Finding Fulfillment in Prayer

12 07 2012

To all my readers out there, sorry it has taking me so long to come out with another post. Summer is always a busy time for myself and my family. But this summer I have many blessings to be thankful for, many of which have occurred in the past couple months. A lot of these blessings can be attributed to the power of prayer and goes to show that with a constant prayer life, God provides in so many ways.

But first we first as followers must surrender to the will of God and not ourselves otherwise prayer is done out of selfish needs and not out of sincerity.

Then to all he said, “If anyone wants to be a follower of mine let him renounce himself and take up his cross and follow me. For anyone who wants to save his life will lose it; but anyone who loses his life for my sake, that man will save it. What gain, then, is it for a man to have won the whole world and to have lost or ruined his very self? For if anyone is ashamed of me and of my words, of him the Son of Man will be ashamed when he comes in his own glory and in the glory of the Father and the holy angels.” Luke 9:22-26

The are many tangents I can go off from this verse but the simple one is the very fact that Jesus is calling all of us out. A good quote that I heard from Deacon Harold Burke-Sievers last spring is that, “In Life there are many Fans of Jesus, but not Followers.” This quote is so spot on I can’t even describe how perfect it is. Reminds us daily of how we need to be faithful to the faith and not faithless. So let us prayer for an increase in fidelity and courage in the faith. The power and fulfillment can be the missing link in many of our lives. I see it everyday in today’s youth. So encourage them to start when the are young and to pray for submission to the will of God. Amen

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

